Working with the 16-bit PIC24F

Standard

I started my microcontroller (uC) journey with the ‘AVR’ and then made it a point to diversify into other awesome uCs. Naturally, the next stop is the famed Microchip’s PIC – Peripheral Interface Controller. Now, when I say PIC it is almost always assumed (in India especially) to be the PIC18F series mostly the PIC18F4570 etc. It so happens that these chips are 8-bit architectures like the AVR (they are classic competitors).

A lot and I mean a lot has been done with this PIC series (18F) to the point that virtually any circuit that can be done has been done and posted on the internet. So, to spice things up a bit I chose to work with the relatively unknown PIC24F series. This series features a 16-bit architecture with superior features (PPS – Peripheral Pin Select is the most remarkable in my opinion) and performance than the 18F. Specifically, I chose the PIC24FJ64GA002 and the best thing for me was, there is not much ready reference circuits or programs available for this microcontroller.

What have I done? I repeated the exact same experiments that I did with AVR. The output is the same but to achieve it was a task, my word, far more difficult to accomplish. And since the output is the same it might be a little boring to see the videos of the hardware implementation, so instead I have posted screen recordings of the simulations (using Proteus).

Since descriptions of the experiments were already written in my AVR article, I would not like to repeat them here. So onto the experiments then.

Simple I/O:

The simulation shows an LED blinking (output) and when the switch is pressed (input) the LED is held on which is truly a simple case of input and output.

DSC03987

As a part of only output programming, here is an LED matrix display that is programmed to display ‘hp07’. The hardware part for this is too straight forward that I stopped with the simulation. 

ADC:

Curiously, Proteus is capable of simulating LCD displays too. As the potentiometer is moved from the minimum to maximum resistance position, the voltage varies from 0-5V and that is read by the microcontroller using the ADC and it is displayed.

DSC03992   DSC03991

PWM:

Proteus can also simulate oscilloscopes that show waveforms. Therefore instead of showing a variation in LED brightness and motor speed (that can barely be seen), the simulation shows it better. You can notice how when ON time (in the waveform) is longer, the motor rotates faster and slow during shorter ON times.

DSC03999

I recently got an instrument called logic analyser that can be used to practically visualize the waveform too. I have a computer interface based one and therefore the screenshot of the waveform:

Simulation

UART:

Ofcourse, I have to end with the same button presses counting game. When the count button is pressed, a counting interrupt routine is executed with the red LED glowing that counts the number of times the button has been pressed.

And when the transmit button is pressed the data is transmitted through the Universal Asynchronous Receiver Transmitter (the green led glows during this routine). The other microcontroller receives the data and displays it with the help of IC 7447 and a common anode 7 segment display.

DSC04004

The count is re-initialized to zero after every transmission.

And therefore I finished my experiments with PIC. Yea, I did the same experiments as with the AVR microcontrollers. It is easy for me to use a thermistor instead of a potentiometer and post it as a digital thermometer in the ADC experiment. But all that is technically trivial manifestations of the base which is the ADC module. What matters is the program and the base circuit to get it to work and I have done that – therefore mission accomplished!

The videos of the hardware implementation using PIC is on my youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/harshaprabakaran07/videos

2 thoughts on “Working with the 16-bit PIC24F

Leave a Reply

